About Us

News from the CEO
Local News from OAEC
Local News Archive
National Co-op News

Leatherwood Recipient of 'NextGen' Under 30 Award

January 03, 2017

Oklahoma Living magazine and Oklahoma Association of Electric Cooperative (OAEC) staff are pleased to announce Multimedia Specialist Hayley Leatherwood has been awarded the “NextGen Under 30” award.

The program recognizes Oklahoma’s next generation of leaders and achievers who push the boundaries of innovation and contributions to community.

Nearly 1,000 individuals across the state were nominated for this year’s award. Fifteen winners in each of sixteen categories were chosen who demonstrate talent, drive and service to their communities. Leatherwood was selected to represent Oklahoma in the “media” category.

As a part of this award, she participated in a reception at the Oklahoma State Capitol on Oct. 10 and Governor Mary Fallin presented the award to Leatherwood on Nov. 18 at an awards banquet held at the Cox Convention Center in Oklahoma City, Okla. Featured keynote speakers were Barry Switzer and former congressman J.C. Watts.

"Today, millennial professionals are a huge part of Oklahoma's businesses, arts, media, policy and nonprofit communities," said Don Swift, publisher of iON Oklahoma Online and founder of the NextGen Under 30 Oklahoma Awards. " NextGen Under 30 Oklahoma aims to support retention of millennial professionals in Oklahoma by recognizing outstanding achievements among the state’s best and brightest.”

OAEC congratulates Leatherwood on her recognition and continued commitment to the cooperative community.

“We’re proud of Hayley’s accomplishments and her contributions to Oklahoma’s electric cooperatives,” said Chris Meyers, OAEC General Manager. “She is creatively driven and very passionate for her craft. We are fortunate to have Hayley as part of our co-op family.”