Oklahoma Youth Tour

Oklahoma Youth Tour will return Summer 2022! *

Over 70 outstanding students are chosen to represent Oklahoma in Washington D.C.

Local rural electric cooperatives choose students each year to represent Oklahoma in Youth Tour to Washington, D.C. They will join more than 1,800 other students from co-ops across the nation on a weeklong, ALL-EXPENSE PAID trip to tour national landmarks, meet with their congressional representatives and learn what it means to be an actively involved citizen.

Participants are selected through an application, essay, speech, and interview process during which judges look for excellent academic achievement and community leadership. Each co-ops contest varies in the process. Contact your local cooperative coordinator for more information!

History: Students will immerse themselves in America’s history touring our Nation’s Capital.

Leadership: Leadership is a key skill students will learn during Youth Tour.

Friendship: Youth Tour has a long history of creating lifelong friendships across Oklahoma and across the Nation.


Legislative Emphasis during Youth Tour

Students will get to interact and listen to some of Oklahoma’s delegation during our “Capitol Hill Day.” This is a great opportunity for students to ask questions, learn leadership skills and get a glimpse of “a day in the life” of an Oklahoma legislator.


Meet your 2022 Youth Tour Leadership Team

Stacy Howeth, Youth Tour Director

Nicole Bode, Assistant Youth Tour Director

Check back soon to see the 2022 Youth Tour chaperones! 

A Word from OKYT Director Stacy Howeth


Follow Youth Tour’s Facebook and Instagram pages! We will go live multiple days during Youth Tour week and post daily on our pages and stories. You don’t want to miss out on the fun!

Instagram: @OKYouthTour

Facebook: Oklahoma Youth Tour

*Youth Tour and schedules could change/cancel due to unforeseeable and circumstances beyond OAEC’s control